top of page
Search

I Got Stamina!

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I Oh, I, I got stamina Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes Well, oh, I got stamina And uh-oh, I see another mountain to climb But I, I, I got stamina Uh-oh, I need another lover, be mine Cause I, I, I got stamina

Don't give up, I won't give up Don't give up, no no no Don't give up, I won't give up Don't give up, no no no

I am in love with this song! This is a song that I always hear while running. Yesterday I was literally running out of breath. Don't worry. It wasn't a health issue. It was windy and I just got my covid vaccine so I'm fairly certain despite it not being listed as one that shortness of breath during intense exercise is a side effect. There isn't any other explanation for that and my very sad sad pace. But I've got stamina. Because despite 5 miles being the goal and only reaching 3.5 the truth is that I wondered if I could even reach 3 let alone that extra half. But I got stamina! I've built it up through training and routine running. I have a shirt with the quote, "Discipline is just choosing between what you want now and what you want most." Yesterday was hard, but I'm not giving up because I got stamina! When I fall down and don't quite meat my goal I'm not giving up because I got stamina! When I think I'm done...running is for the fit people of the world I'm not giving up because I got stamina! I have a goal and I know what I want. Quite honestly for the next few days or maybe even more I'm going to have to take it easy and be gentle with myself when I'm not at my normal pace. But I'm not giving up cause I got stamina! SO, all that to say that if you are struggling with staying the course (or getting on the course in the first place), just be kind and gentle with yourself because tomorrow is another day. If you haven't gotten it together yet, just make the decision to do it and make a plan to do it. You do have to make a plan or it won't happen. Just don't give up. Don't beat yourself up if you fall or still need to get started. But do make a plan. What do you want most? Whatever that is you are doing to have to make a plan and stick to it. Being kind and gentle with yourself doesn't mean delaying. What can you do this week this week that will make you feel proud this time next week? What is the least amount of time you can dedicate to your health this week? Start there. If you need a plan, here you go:

Tuesday/Thursday - Run/Walk (or just walk) a mile. Start here. This should be your minimum this week if you are struggling. The days don't matter. Just commit to whichever two days you can. If you can do more miles, then do that. If you can do more days then do that, but make this your minimum. It's not much. But it's something. Here is another little piece of advice. Use music during your workout. I didn't use to do that. I actually can run really far without any music of any kind. But what music provides me with is sense memory that motivates me to run. I associate certain songs with running and when I hear them it creates (I imagine it has to do with dendrites making connections) an positive emotional connection to running for me. I do genuinely enjoy running, but when I'm not feeling motivated or my discipline is low, this helps. I'm not sure I could recommend anything more if you are struggling with motivation than associating music with your routine. But not just music in general. Find some specific songs that speak to you so that when you hear them they will make you have a positive emotional response to whatever your exercise regimen consists of.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Plan for the New Year!

So for those of you reading this and wanting to make some changes, here is your first assignment. Make a list of healthy foods that you...

Happy New Year!

Every year has its detractors. Some people have good years and some people have bad ones. And some have really bad ones. I think most...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page