top of page
Search

Christmas Egg Casserole (Healthy is Debatable)

I wanted to try something different for Christmas. I almost always make pancakes or waffles. It's my day to be completely self-indulgent. I decided this year I wanted to try an egg casserole. So I threw some stuff together and looked for a recipe to find cooking temperature and time. It seems people add baking powder and flour. I'm not sure why. I guess it makes it bready? Eh. I don't need bread. Whatever. So here is what I came up with:

Recipe with approximate calories

5 Eggs (350 calories)

1 Cup Italian Shredded Cheese (360 calories)

4 Strips Bacon (180 calories)

1 Can Cream of Mushroom Soup (250 calories)

1 Cup Spinach (10 calories)

1/2 Cup of Milk (60 Calories)

Pepper

Mix it all together in whatever order you want because that's how I roll. Okay, but the way I did it was putting the cream of mushroom in with milk and then I think I added the eggs and bacon and cheese and spinach. Oh I don't know. Anyway, put it all in there and then cook it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, stir it up and cook another 30 minutes. Now I would have added some tomatoes if I had any on hand but I didn't so this is what you get. Enjoy! I promise it's going to be one of the best things you eat. If it's not, well...I can't help it if you don't have good taste ;)

The total calories for the whole thing should be around 1210 so I mean if you go on a long run (10 miles or more) you can probably eat the whole thing....I mean you probably want to portion it out I guess. So if I HAVE to do that then if you divide it into quarters I guess it would be around 302 calories. That is pretty high for me for breakfast, but this is Christmas! If you have enough self-control to portion it into sixths then I guess it would be a safe 201 calories. Okay when I say that calorie count of 302 is high it's because I'm not done. I'm going to put it on two corn tortillas (100 calories) and have some avocado (75 calories or more depending on how much I use) so we're talking a pretty high calorie breakfast. But sometimes that is completely acceptable. Unless you just have the egg casserole by itself and then it's perfectly healthy all by itself. Okay it's not really. It's got a lot of cholesterol in it so if you have to limit that be careful. If you DONT...ENJOY the hell out of this baby! You're welcome!

16 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Got Stamina!

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I Oh, I, I got stamina Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes Well, oh, I got stamina And uh-oh, I see...

Plan for the New Year!

So for those of you reading this and wanting to make some changes, here is your first assignment. Make a list of healthy foods that you...

Happy New Year!

Every year has its detractors. Some people have good years and some people have bad ones. And some have really bad ones. I think most...

4件のコメント


Sarah mckenzie
Sarah mckenzie
2020年12月26日

You welcome , me to 🥰

いいね!

jennietgalvan
jennietgalvan
2020年12月26日

You're sweet! Thank you! I'm definitely happy to be your "mom".

いいね!

Sarah mckenzie
Sarah mckenzie
2020年12月26日

Also look at my profile picture

いいね!

Sarah mckenzie
Sarah mckenzie
2020年12月26日

I dont like alot of things but that sounds good and I like how you cook ever since I tried your pumpkin muffins lol I love you mom , you might be my old teacher but you'll always be my mom , I need to lose weight and I also wanted to subscribe and maybe tell everyone about your website for you , i love you mom

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page