top of page
Search

Food Addiction and Marathon Training

This is from something I wrote in 2019.

Last October (2018), I got inspired by two actors running a marathon. I've always chosen running over any other form of exercise and I've even fantasized (yeah really) about doing a marathon. In my 20s I ran, but never got to the point of doing more than maybe five miles, if even that. And I certainly didn't get to the point of being able to run the whole thing. Whole thing being five miles. I struggled, as many do, with maintaining a healthy weight. I went up. I went down. I went up again. Who knows how many cycles of that over the years. And who knows if I'm even done with the cycle.


Right now I feel like I'm in a good place. I've gotten my eating into at least a place of semi-balance. I generally eat healthy. I used to overeat. A lot. I literally could not stop. It's such a hard addiction because you can't stop eating. It's necessary to live. And it's still there, my addiction. If I let myself I will eat and eat and eat and indulge and make myself sick. And then do it again. And sometimes I do give in because it's so hard to say no. So when I say I kind of have some balance now that is what I mean. I eat "mostly" healthy. I can generally control what I put into my body because over the last few years I've slowly, taken control. I don't know what works for other people. What works for me is to eat healthy food. I slowly weaned myself from the bad stuff and started eating healthy. I started eating when I was hungry, instead of all the time. I stopped buying certain things that were going to cause me to binge.


I have a routine. I eat the same thing for breakfast most days. I eat the same thing for lunch a lot of the time. And I still indulge a bit, but it's very thoughtful indulgence. If I want the cafeteria Mac and Cheese I ask them to give me a couple spoonfuls, not the whole thing. It's really hard to live this lifestyle to be honest. It's easier than it used to be, but if I let myself I'd eat and eat and just enjoy it all and end up being someone I don't want to be. And I'm not just talking about physical appearance. I had no will power. I literally could not say no. I feel better about myself because I've taken control of my life. Today I had a quarter of a doughnut. Someone said, "Why torture yourself that way?" But it wasn't torture. I got to have something I enjoy without feeling gross afterward. I'm not starving myself. I'm not harming my body by overeating. I'm just trying to be more balanced.


And then there is running. I really love it! Seriously! I mean it's a love/hate of course. I have to make myself get out there, but I'm always glad I did when I'm finished. Last December I started my running journey. I ran at the local track for maybe two miles. I walked a lot of it. And then I decided to start training for a half-marathon in January. I missed some runs because it got cold and I don't DO cold. I mean I really don't do cold. There is ice in my veins and I hate winter with a passion. Just so we're clear on where I stand there. Now despite my hatred of all things cold, I did make myself go running if it was above 40 (mostly). And eventually I could run for half the time. And that was how I did it. I ran some and walked some and just did what I could. And in May 2019 I ran my first half-marathon. And then I decided to see what I could do with my running. Could I run three miles without taking a walk break? Well...apparently I can. Okay. How about six? Again, I can. Let me be clear here. I've NEVER been able to do this. Why all of a sudden I'm motivated and able to do this is beyond me quite honestly, other than I just finally got super motivated. I guess I honestly had a goal. I'd never signed up for races before so maybe that is part of it. I had something to work toward. So I ran another half in July and then another in August.


Running a marathon has been my goal since my twenties. And now here I am at a point where it could be a reality. In October, I finally committed. I signed up for the Austin Marathon. I started a training plan before that because I had to prepare myself first. And since I was on a marathon training plan, it was time to sign up for a marathon. And so in February of 2020 if I follow through with my plan I will run my first marathon. I'm proud of myself, not in a prideful, "I'm all that" way, but in a healthy, "good for you" way. I've come so far. I hope I run for many years to come and I hope that I run more than one marathon. It's really changed my life.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Got Stamina!

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I Oh, I, I got stamina Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes Well, oh, I got stamina And uh-oh, I see...

Plan for the New Year!

So for those of you reading this and wanting to make some changes, here is your first assignment. Make a list of healthy foods that you...

Happy New Year!

Every year has its detractors. Some people have good years and some people have bad ones. And some have really bad ones. I think most...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page