top of page
Search

My First Martahon

I'm not sure how to start this. I completed my first marathon in Austin, TX on Sunday, February 16, 2020. For me, that's a pretty big deal. It's a goal that has really been at least 20, maybe 30 years in the making. I don't really want to talk about that though. I want to talk about training for and completing my first marathon. It was scary and exciting and the most amazing experience. I got to spend 4 days in my absolute favorite city. And then I got to run to my first marathon there. It meant a lot to me. I started training in October (I think) with a plan to complete a marathon sub five hours. Throughout the process I did see my pace go down from around 11:30 to around 10:00. Austin is hilly and other athlete's that have run it before told me it's a hard race so I feel proud, despite not quite meeting the time goal I set for myself. I did NO hill work until the last three weeks and that wasn't the best way to train, but with where I live and the limited time and roads that I have it is what it is.


I started by refusing to commit until I was at least partially convinced that I could be successful. So around November, I finally signed up for the marathon. And I trained. I didn't always get in all my weekday runs, but I got in every single long run. And those are the important runs from what I understand. I had a 16 week plan and I probably started at least four to six weeks earlier because I knew I'd miss some Saturday runs. And I was right. So my first long run over a half marathon was completed. And then sixteen miles and then eighteen and then twenty. And I had serious conversations with myself when I didn't get that eighteen in one weekend. If I didn't get it done, I was going to be going down to the half. And so somehow that worked and I got it done. And then I somehow got in my twenty mile long run. And so I was ready. I had prepared myself and I was ready.


But I was still nervous. Because this is a marathon. This is something I've wanted to do for decades, but never felt I had the ability to do. And here I am training for it. And on Sunday, there I was DOING it! I probably started too fast. It's hard not too. I probably should have gone slower up the hills and conserved my energy. I probably should have been careful about running down the hills. I imagine that or a possible slip earlier is why at about mile twenty I started to feel some tension in my left knee to the point that I had to reach down and rub some soreness.


But I persisted. I did! I had to walk the last five miles. And it was hard to walk them because I wanted to run and because my knee at that point was a serious issue. But I did it. If you are running a marathon and you're knee hurts, I suggest maybe considering bowing out. What I did is not a recommendation. On the other hand, I walked it. I knew better than to try to run because that could have done serious damage. And so for mile 21 I walked and it was LONG. And for mile 22 I walked and it was LONG. And for mile 23 I walked and it was LONG. And for mile 24 I walked and it was LONG. And for mile 25 I walked and it was LONG. And for mile 26, finally mile 26 I walked and it was long, especially when the end of the last mile was UPHILL. But I did it! I persisted! I didn't give up. And I completed my first marathon in my favorite city, Austin, TX. I finished in 5:52 minutes and some change because I had to walk the last five. And I'm not happy with that ending time. I'm convinced I could have finished in a minimum of 5:30 or sooner if I could have run. BUT I'm still proud because this is my first marathon. I did it! Something I wasn't sure I could ever do and I did it!


I don't believe you can necessarily do ANYTHING you set your mind to because we all have different strengths and abilities. But I do believe you can do ALMOST anything you set your mind to if you really want it. So I'm proud of myself and I hope if anyone reading this has a dream that isn't completely outside of reach, that you go for it. I think it's very possible.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Got Stamina!

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I Oh, I, I got stamina Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes Well, oh, I got stamina And uh-oh, I see...

Plan for the New Year!

So for those of you reading this and wanting to make some changes, here is your first assignment. Make a list of healthy foods that you...

Happy New Year!

Every year has its detractors. Some people have good years and some people have bad ones. And some have really bad ones. I think most...

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page