top of page
Search

Runner's World Half Marathon Training Plan

For those that would like to attempt a half-marathon, here is a training plan for you to look at:

I'm going to present an adapted plan that I am putting together for a friend who has limited time.

Any day that is not a running day can be used for cross training (XT) such as yoga or pilates. You should have one day a week that is a pure rest day with nothing workout related. For the plan below I am only going to include Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday since those are the days my friend can train. Keep in mind that if you are a beginner take it slow with a combination of walking and running. It's okay if you walk most of the early weeks of the plan. When you do a half-marathon you can even walk the whole thing as long as you can get finished in under 4 hours. I wouldn't suggest walking the whole thing though because unless you are a fast walker you may not finish. This is just my complete novice opinion, but I would suggest if you can't run most of the miles to try walking 1/2 and running 1/2 of each mile in the half-marathon. If you start this training plan, you can start with walking 3/4 of the miles and running 1/4 and work your way up to running more as the weeks go by.

Week 1 - Wednesday (2 miles), Saturday (3 miles), Sunday (4 miles)

Week 2 - Wednesday (2 miles), Saturday (3 miles), Sunday (5 miles)

Week 3 - Wednesday (2 miles), Saturday (4 miles), Sunday (5 miles)

Week 4 - Wednesday (2 miles), Saturday (5 miles), Sunday (6 miles)


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Got Stamina!

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I Oh, I, I got stamina Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes Well, oh, I got stamina And uh-oh, I see...

Plan for the New Year!

So for those of you reading this and wanting to make some changes, here is your first assignment. Make a list of healthy foods that you...

Happy New Year!

Every year has its detractors. Some people have good years and some people have bad ones. And some have really bad ones. I think most...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page